EN

Food

Lecithin gives texture to food and optimises it

Lecithin for food

Lecithin has been used in food production for many years. Due to its good texture-giving properties, its harmlessness to health or even health-promoting properties in some cases and its unproblematic extraction and processing, lecithin is an important factor in the optimisation of food - from the production process to the product properties and the physiological value of the food. Lecithin is used wherever the emulsifying and dispersing properties of the substance offer advantages. Products that benefit most from it are, for instance, baked goods, confectionery and instant products.

Baked goods

Emulsifiers are indispensable in the bakery. With its excellent properties, lecithin can replace synthetic emulsifiers and, with good economic efficiency, is responsible for a number of product advantages, including:

  • high volume yield
  • improved freshness
  • better dough properties
  • optimised fat distribution
  • increased fermentation tolerance

Baking agents

The use of lecithin in baking agents strengthens the gluten network during dough preparation. In combination with proteins, lecithin offers improved water retention in the dough structure and thus improved freshness.

Patisserie

Lecithins in pastry products are responsible for a better distribution of the individual components, such as fat and sugar, in the mass. At the same time, they enable better processing properties and an even browning of the baked goods.

Waffles

In the production of waffles, lecithin is responsible for the finest distribution of the components. As a separating agent from the waffle iron, the structure of the waffle or the contours of the corrugation is very important, in addition to the pleasant browning. The use of lecithin also extends the cleaning intervals of the baking plates.

Yeast pastry

Lecithin in yeast-raised doughs improves the extensibility of the adhesive. As a result, the fermentation stability increases, which leads to fine, even pores. Enzymatically hydrolysed lecithins are suitable for interrupting fermentation during the production of dough pieces. Due to their hydrophilic properties, they are able to bring the free dough water into small, fine, uniform ice crystals during freezing, thus protecting the adhesive framework and maintaining volume.

The wide range of applications also includes low-fat baked goods such as crackers or grissini, frozen doughs, cakes and cake mixes and pizza bases.

Chocolate and confectionery

The use of lecithin in chocolate masses enables the saving of cocoa butter, which is the most expensive raw material. Furthermore, lecithin influences the crystallisation behaviour of chocolate on the surface. With its single phospho-lipids, it adjusts the viscosity and the flow limits of the chocolate masses and thus supports the saving of energy and chocolate masses e.g., in coating masses. The use of lecithin fractions offers considerable savings in chocolate masses e.g., for ice cream coatings, chocolate candies and bar coatings, with uniform coating.

Typical applications for lecithin are, therefore:

  • Chocolate bars
  • Chocolate candies
  • Hollowware
  • Coating compounds

Instant products

Lecithin improves the dispersion ability of the individual powder forms. It shortens the sinking time and ensures a fine stable emulsion of the beverages. Furthermore, lecithins are also added during spray drying or during mixing. Here, lecithins that are enriched with PC or from whom oil has been removed, are advantageous because they are absolutely neutral in taste.

Lecithin is used for optimising:

  • Cocoa drinks
  • Milk shakes
  • Protein shakes
  • Milk powder

Margarine

The fat content of margarine in the “light margarine” category is approximately 40%. A major disadvantage is the splashing of the water content and the burning of protein components in the frying process. This can be positively influenced by an increased PC content, as also the development of smoke over a longer frying process. Enzymatically hydrolysed lecithins are also popular because they are very hydrophilic.

Lecithin improves margarine products:

  • Stabilisation and emulsification of W/O emulsions
  • Improvement in anti-oxidation
  • Improved anti-splash behaviour

Many other applications in the food sector

If product properties, production processes or cost efficiency need to be optimised, lecithin can contribute to optimisation in many other food categories.

  • Flavours
  • Infant food
  • Icecream
  • Colorants
  • Meat broths and sauces
  • Cocoa powder
  • Chewing gum
  • Cheese products
  • Sugar and confectionery products

DE

Food

Lecithin texturiert und optimiert Lebensmittel

Lecithin für Food

Seit vielen Jahren wird Lecithin in der Lebensmittelproduktion eingesetzt. Aufgrund der guten Texturierungseigenschaften, der gesundheitlichen Unbedenklichkeit bzw. teilweise sogar gesundheitsfördernden Eigenschaften und der unproblemtischen Gewinnung und Verarbeitung ist Lecithin zu einem wichtigen Faktor bei der Optimierung von Nahrungsmitteln – vom Herstellungsprozess über die Produkteigenschaften bis hin zum physiologischen Wert der Lebensmittel. Eingesetzt wird Lecithin überall dort, wo die emulgierenden und dispergierenden Eigenschaften der Substanz Vorteile bringen. Produkte, die am stärksten davon profitieren, sind zum Beispiel Backwaren, Süßwaren und Instantprodukte.

Backwaren

In der Bäckerei sind Emulgatoren unverzichtbar. Mit seinen hervorragenden Eigenschaften kann Lecithin synthetische Emulgatoren ersetzen und ist bei guter Wirtschaftlichkeit verantwortlich für eine Reihe von Produktvorteilen, u.a.

  • hohe Volumenausbeute
  • verbesserte Frischhaltung
  • bessere Teigeigenschaften
  • optimierte Fettverteilung
  • erhöhte Gärtoleranz

Backmittel

Durch den Einsatz von Lecithin in Backmitteln wird das Glutennetzwerk bei der Teigbereitung gestärkt, in Verbindung mit Proteinen bietet das Lecithin eine verbesserte Wassereinlagerung in der Teigstruktur und somit eine verbesserte Frischhaltung.

Feinbackwaren

Lecithine in Feinbackwaren sind verantwortlich für eine bessere Verteilung der einzelnen Komponenten wie Fett und Zucker in der Masse. Sie ermöglichen zugleich eine bessere Verarbeitungseigenschaft und eine gleichmäßige Bräunung der Gebäcke.

Waffeln

Bei der Herstellung von Waffeln ist das Lecithin für eine Feinstverteilung der Komponenten verantwortlich. Als Trennmittel vom Waffeleisen ist neben der angenehmen Bräunung auch die Struktur der Waffel bzw. die Konturen der Riffelung sehr wichtig. Der Einsatz von Lecithin verlängert zudem die Reinigungsintervalle der Backplatten.

Hefegebäck

Lecithin in hefegelockerten Teigen verbessert die Dehnbarkeit des Klebers. Infolgedessen steigt die Gärstabilität, was zu einer feinen gleichmäßigen Porung führt. Zur Gärunterbrechung bei der Herstellung von Teiglingen bieten sich enzymatisch hydrolisierte Lecithine an. Aufgrund ihrer hydrophilen Eigenschaft sind sie in der Lage, das freie Teigwasser während des Frostens in kleine, feine, gleichmäßige Eiskristalle zu bringen und somit das Klebergerüst zu schützen und das Volumen zu erhalten.

Die breite Palette der Anwendungsbereiche umfasst weiterhin fettarme Gebäcke wie Cracker oder Grissini, Tiefkühlteige, Kuchen und Kuchenmischungen sowie Pizzaböden.

Schokolade und Süßwaren

Der Einsatz von Lecithin in Schokoladenmassen ermöglicht die Einsparung von Kakaobutter und somit des teuersten Rohstoffs. Ferner beeinflusst Lecithin das Kristallisationsverhalten von Schokolade an der Oberfläche. Mit seinen Einzelphospholipiden stellt es die Viskosität und die Fließgrenzen der Schokoladenmassen ein und unterstützt damit die Einsparung von Energie und Schokoladenmassen, z.B. bei Überzugsmassen. Der Einsatz von Lecithinfraktionen bietet z.B. bei Eiskremüberzugsmassen, Pralinen und Riegelüberzugsmassen eine erhebliche Einsparung der Schokoladenmassen bei gleichmäßigen Coaten.

Typische Einsatzgebiete für Lecithin sind somit

  • Tafelschokolade
  • Pralinen
  • Hohlkörper
  • Überzugsmassen

Instantprodukte

Lecithin verbessert die Dispergierbarkeit der einzelnen Pulverformen. Es verkürzt die Einsinkzeit und gewährleistet eine feine stabile Emulsion der Getränke. Des weiteren werden Lecithine auch bei der Sprühtrocknung oder während des Mischens zugesetzt. Hier sind entölte oder mit PC angereicherte Lecithine vorteilhaft, da sie absolut geschmacksneutral sind.

Lecithin wird eingesetzt zur Optimierung von

  • Kakaogetränken
  • Milchshakes
  • Proteinshakes
  • Milchpulver

Margarine

Bei Margarine der Kategorie „Light Margarine“ liegt der Fettgehalt bei ca. 40%. Ein wesentlicher Nachteil ist das Verspritzen des Wasseranteils und das Anbrennen von Eiweißbestandteilen im Bratprozess. Dies kann mit einem erhöhtem PC-Gehalt positiv beeinflusst werden, genauso wie die Rauchentwicklung über einen längeren Bratprozess. Auch werden gern enzymatisch hydrolisierte Lecithine eingesetzt, da diese sehr hydrophil sind.

Lecithin verbessert Margarineprodukte:

  • Stabilisierung und Emulgierung von W/O-Emulsionen
  • Verbesserung der Antioxidation
  • Verbessertes Antispritzverhalten

Viele weitere Anwendungen im Lebensmittelbereich

Wenn es gilt, Produkteigenschaften, Produktionsabläufe oder die Kosteneffizienz zu optimieren, kann Lecithin in vielen weiteren Lebensmittelkategorien zur Optimierung beitragen.

  • Aromen
  • Babynahrung
  • Eiscreme
  • Farbstoffe
  • Fleischbrühen und Saucen
  • Kakaopulver
  • Kaugummi
  • Käseprodukte
  • Milchpulver
  • Zucker- und Süßwaren